The Institute of Economic Studies (IES) has conferred the “Udyog Rattan Award” to Mr. Diwakar Nigam (MD, Newgen Software) for his contribution in the field of industrial development of the country. Newgen Software also won the prestigious “Excellence Award” for the outstanding work in the field of Information Technology. IES is one of the country’s premier and recognized research institutes.

The award ceremony was held on September 18, 2012 at the India Habitat Center, New Delhi preceded by a seminar on ‘Economic Development.’ The award was presented to Newgen Software by Mr. Shekhar Dutt, honorable Governor of Chhattisgarh. Eminent personalities including Mr. Bhishma Narain Singh – former Governor Of Tamil Nadu & Assam, Mr. Rajendra K. Pachauri – 2007  Nobel laureate, and Dr. S.P.S. Bakshi  – Chairman & Managing Director Engineering Projects (India) Ltd., among others, attended the event.

The previous recipients of the prestigious Udyog Rattan award include personalities such as Vijay Mallaya, R Krishna Bajaj, H S Singhania, Dr B K Modi, B R Chopra, Renuka Ramnath, and H P Nanda. The ‘Excellence Award’ has been presented to leading IT organizations such as IBM, Infosys, and TCS in the past years.